Will Power powered his way through 500 miles at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway to win his first Indy 500 title.  Will Power brought legendary owner Roger Penske his 17th career Indy 500 win.

Will Power (with a fitting name) took over the race in the 2nd half and ran away from the field in the final four laps of the race.  Local favorite Ed Carpenter who started on the pole finished 2nd, followed by 2008 winner Scott Dixon in 3rd, and 2016 winner Alexander Rossi in 4th place.

In victory lane, Power exclaimed: “Man I just can’t believe it!” He was fourth coming out of the final restart with seven laps left, but he quickly passed Oriol Servia and leaders Stefan Wilson and Jack Harvey pitted for fuel.

“It’s the restart of my life,” Power said. “P1 and 2 pitted, and I said, ‘I think I’m gonna win this.’

“I was wondering if I was ever going to win this,” Power added. “I couldn’t imagine winning in front of a crowd like this.”

The race itself was a hot one and temperatures reached 92 degrees at IMS.  The drivers were worried throughout the month regarding the passing and it showed with minimal passing and alot of following the leader today during the race.

Those conditions, plus a still-new race car design, sent the 33 teams into the event admitting that they didn’t know what exactly to expect from the race until it was well underway. That led to a series of varied pit strategies and a long list of race leaders, 15 in all via 30 lead changes, many of those coming during pit stops, when different teams were employing their chosen strategies, be it fewer pit stops, staggered pit stops or fuel-saving measures.

Before a second-half restart, multiple drivers could be heard over their teams’ radio channels asking for clarifications on exactly what strategies were being employed. The final round of pit stops, starting with 28 laps remaining, were particularly tense, as every drop of fuel either gathered or missed could have made the difference between winning and losing.

An abundance of second-half cautions had moved most of the field onto two strategic pages, those with full tanks and fresh tires and those working to milk the last few gasps out what little fuel they had remaining. Power benefited from being in that first group, while Wilson was undone by being in the second.



Power wins 102nd Indy 500 (photo credit to Mykal McEldowney/IndyStar)[/caption]


Photo credit to Matt Kryger/IndyStar





Photo Credit to Jenna Watson/IndyStar


2018 Indianapolis 500 results

  1. Will Power
  2. Ed Carpenter
  3. Scott Dixon
  4. Alexander Rossi
  5. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  6. Simon Pagenaud
  7. Carlos Munoz
  8. Josef Newgarden
  9. Robert Wickins
  10. Graham Rahal
  11. JR Hildebrand
  12. Marco Andretti
  13. Matheus Leist
  14. Gabby Chaves
  15. Stefan Wilson
  16. Jack Harvey
  17. Oriol Servia
  18. Charlie Kimball
  19. Zach Claman De Melo
  20. Spencer Pigot
  21. Conor Daly
  22. Max Chilton
  23. Zach Veach
  24. Jay Howard
  25. Tony Kanaan
  26. Sage Karam
  27. Helio Castroneves
  28. Sebastien Bourdais
  29. Kyle Kaiser
  30. Danica Patrick
  31. Ed Jones
  32. Takuma Sato
  33. James Davison


Follow Us Here:

Please share on Facebook & Twitter!